Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Something you need to know about me is that I love to cook. Ever since I moved out I have constantly been trying new recipes. I was never able to do this when I lived at home. My mom never liked me to cook because she thought I would make a mess in the kitchen and never clean it up. That’s so not true! So last night I invited my mom over for dinner. She loved it because she didn’t have to worry about cleaning up a mess. 🙂

I decided to make Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas. I love me some cheesy goodness. I also like this recipe because you can tweak it to your liking. So here ya go!

Ingredients:

10 soft taco
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
1 Clove Minced Garlic
3 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. Corn Starch (You can also use flour)
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Lime Juice
1 Finely Chopped Jalapeno (Optional)
Salt and Pepper to taste
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan.
-In a medium size bowl mix chicken, 1 cup of the cheese and garlic. Roll the mixture into tortillas and place into pan.
-In a sauce pan melt the butter and stir in corn starch and cook for one minute. Add broth and whisk until smooth. Keep over heat until it bubbles and becomes thick. Stir in sour cream, chopped Jalapenos, onion powder, garlic powder, lime, salt and pepper. Do not let it boil.
-Pour mixture over enchiladas and top with the last cup of cheese. Bake for 22 min. Then broil for 3 minutes until cheese has browned.
I marinated my chicken in McCormick’s Mojito Lime marinate. I served it with spanish rice and some homemade Guacamole. My mom loved them! She even wants the recipe. So have your own enchilada night and enjoy!
Tomorrow I’ll share with you what I made for dessert and I promise you won’t want to miss it!

Leave a comment