A New Challenge

So I’ve made another resolution as of yesterday and yes it’s the cliche weight loss one. Don’t hate. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said this and how many times I’ve failed at it. My latest attempt was in October and it lasted all of a month and a half. I do have to say it was the furthest I’ve ever gotten in a weight loss mission and probably the most successful… if you count 7lbs successful. I went to the gym 4 days a week and used an app on my phone a friend recommended for tracking my calories. I even entered the biggest loser competition at work because I was so sure I was going to come out the victor.

Now here we are five months later and I have nothing to show for it. See I’m one of those people who needed instant gratification. Sure my friends and work associates were telling me I looked thinner, but I didn’t know if they were just telling me that to be nice or if I actually looked thinner. I wanted someone who didn’t know I was trying to lose weight to tell me I looked great. I have tons of excuses for why I quit. I worked out during my lunch break, so that only gave me 30 minutes for a good work out and I felt too rushed trying to make sure I was back at work on time. I would spend 20 minutes on the elliptical machine and then lift weights for 10 minutes. I sweated my ass off and would have nothing to show for it. There came the other reason why I quit. People told me that I was gaining weight because I was gaining muscle from lifting weights. AHHH!!! Probably the only real reason why I wasn’t seeing more of a reduction was because even though I was tracking my calories I still wasn’t eating the most nutritious foods. Come on who wouldn’t choose a big old bowl of pasta over a salad? Oh just me? Well then there in lies the problem.

That brings me to my new weight loss mission. You want to hear it? Running! I can hear all the sighs now and I’ve probably lost a few of you, but I’m honestly  going to give it a try. Running is the best exercise you can get and it’s the hardest to start doing, but I need to stop making excuses. I’ll never know until I try. I have two huge inspirations in my life who a year ago could tell you themselves that they never even thought about running and now it’s a part of their weekly routine. They have even accomplished running in their first 5k. I’m so proud of them! It’s something I have never done which gives me even extra motivation.

So we’ll see where this takes me. I hope it will bring a new passion to my life. Any words of motivation or inspiration you could bring me would be wonderful!

 

Leave a Reply

